Skip to content

sorry, that has interfered... similar situation..

Category: tracks

Robot - The Futureheads - Rant

Label: Nul Records - NUL09CDP • Format: CDr Album, Promo • Country: UK • Genre: Rock, Pop • Style: Vocal
Download Robot - The Futureheads - Rant

While a largely a capella album with songs ranging from "The Old Dun Cow" to Kelis singles could be seen as gimmicky at best and a desperate cry for attention Robot - The Futureheads - Rant worst, Rant isn't nearly as far-fetched or contrived as it may seem at first glance.

After all, intricate harmonies and vocal interplay have been as essential to the Futureheads ' sound as their charging drums and guitars, and their cover of Kate Bush 's "Hounds of Love" remains one of their finest moments.

Rant provides an inspired showcase for all four of the heads ' formidable pipes, particularly on a new version of their own "Thursday," where the gorgeous backing vocals are just as compelling as the main ones, and on the traditional song "The Keeper," where everyone gets a turn at singing lead and dynamic shifts keep things from sounding too traditional.

Even better, the album shows off the range of music the band loves beyond the Wire and Gang of Four influences most prevalent in their albums, though the rawness of these performances nods to their punk roots. Some covers are more expected than others: a bit of Richard Thompson 's full-throated bray can be heard in the Futureheads ' own music, so the lovely version of "Beeswing" here feels like a tribute.

However, the real proof Robot - The Futureheads - Rant how winning Rant is lies in its surprising song choices. On the Black Eyed Peas ' "Meet Me Halfway," Barry Hyde sounds like he's about to burst out of his skin from sheer longing, while the jabbing, percussive version of Kelis ' "Acapella" echoes their take on "Hounds of Love" in how different, yet true to the original's spirit, it sounds.

They bring mischievous rock opera majesty to Sparks ' " 1 Song in Heaven" as they mimic arpeggiating synths with "deedle-dit" vocalizing, and employ an arrangement on "Man Ray" that reveals the underlying complexity the song has always had.

Rant goes far beyond any glee club or barbershop perceptions with its reverence and In The Pines - Link Wray - Beans And Fatback while it may not change the mind of anyone who thinks a capella pop music is inherently hokey, it's still one of the Futureheads ' most exciting albums. AllMusic relies heavily on JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript in your browser to use the site fully.

Robot - The Futureheads - Rant Classical Country. Electronic Folk International. Jazz Latin New Age. Aggressive Bittersweet Druggy. Energetic Happy Hypnotic. Romantic Sad Sentimental. Sexy Trippy All Moods. Drinking Hanging Out In Love. Introspection Late Night Partying. Rainy Day Relaxation Road Trip.

Romantic Evening Sex All Themes. Features Interviews Lists. Streams Videos All Posts. Track Listing. The Futureheads. Meet Me Halfway. Sumer Is Icumen In. The Keeper. The No. The Old Dun Cow. Afterparty - Stresshold - Tour Tape Ray.

Spotify Amazon.


Louie, Louie - Various - Good Timin (8-Track Cartridge), At The Gallows End - Candlemass - Nightfall, Quack, I Am A Quack - The Godz - The Third Testament, O Du Fröhliche - Various - Singende Klingende Weihnachtszeit / Musik Für Festtagsstunden, Wabash Cannonball - Various - Washboards...Kazoos...Banjos - The History Of Skiffle

6 thoughts on “ Robot - The Futureheads - Rant

  1. Robot Lyrics: I am a robot / Living like a robot, talk like a robot, in the habititing way / Look up to the sky / Robot / You can trample over me / Robot / I'll do anything you do, now the.
  2. The Futureheads - Robot (A Capella Version) Lyrics. I am a robot, living like a robot, talk like a robot, in the habititting way Look up to the sky (robot), you can trample ove me (robot).
  3. Rant is the fifth studio album by Sunderland-based indie rock band The Futureheads. It was released on 2 April in the United Kingdom. Unlike the band's four previous records, the album was recorded entirely a cappella and features near to none instrumentation apart from vocals. The bonus track 'Hanging Johnny' was included with the digital Genre: A cappella.
  4. Rant goes far beyond any glee club or barbershop perceptions with its reverence and creativity; while it may not change the mind of anyone who thinks a capella pop music is inherently hokey, it's still one of the Futureheads' most exciting albums.8/
  5. The Futureheads have always had a biting and sardonic sense of humor in their songs but coupled with their dazzling ear for melody there was always a complexity to the band; a complexity which Rant is not lacking in. Rant also makes clear reference to an older England where a cappella wasn’t listened to with an eye roll and a smirk like it is.
  6. And on paper, the running order is a hotchpotch, Rant surely the only album to ever find equal space for Meet Me Halfway by The Black Eyed Peas, The No.1 Song in Heaven by Sparks, and the 13th.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 Contact Us
Contact Us